Kan Airbnb-upplevelser som involverar mat tillgodose en kostbegränsning eller preferens?
This content was created by Airbnb and is consistent with Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) technical standards for food safety.
Food experiences are a great way to learn something new. Hosts can often find ways to accommodate a variety of dietary restrictions so everyone gets the most out of the experience. The key is communicating clearly and promptly with your host about any dietary restrictions and preferences that you or your co-travelers may have.
- Always disclose your dietary restrictions or preferences to your host before you book. Even if the experience’s description suggests there won’t be any food items you can’t eat, it’s still a good idea to check with the host to let them know what foods you exclude from your diet. Make sure to consider the needs of your co-travelers as well.
- Make it clear if you do have an allergy or dietary restrictions—don’t simply ask your hosts if certain ingredients are used, or assume the online menu will list all the ingredients. It’s very important that your host be aware of any allergies or dietary restrictions that you or your co-travelers may have, as it may affect other stages of the experience, such as food preparation and serving. Learn more about how to handle food allergies when attending an Airbnb Experience involving food.
- When you arrive for the experience, it’s always good practice to remind your host again about your dietary restrictions or preferences.
Here are some of the common dietary restrictions or preferences hosts may be able to accommodate:
- Dairy-free: Avoid cheese, lactose or milk products, and their derivatives
- Egg-free: Avoid eggs and their derivatives
- Fish allergy: Avoid fish and their derivative
- Gluten-free: Avoid gluten, that can be found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley (these grains can be found in certain breads, pastas, cereals, and even soy sauce and some cleaning materials)
- Peanut allergy: Avoid peanuts and foods that contain peanuts
- Vegan: Includes plant-based foods only, and excludes animal foods of any kind—ex: meat, fish, fowl, eggs, honey, and dairy products
- Vegetarian: Includes eggs, milk, milk products, and plant foods. Excludes meat, fish, and fowl
- Pescatarian: Includes fish, excludes all other meats
- Shellfish allergy: Avoid marine animals in the shellfish category (crustaceans and mollusks, such as shrimp, crab, lobster, squid, oysters, scallops, and others)
- Soy-free: Avoid soybeans and all foods containing by-products of soybeans
- Tree nut allergy: Avoid almonds, cashews, walnuts, pine nuts, lychee nuts, and other tree nuts
Whether or not your particular restriction is listed, be sure to check in with your host about your needs to find out what options are possible.