Hoppa till innehåll

Oaxaca Room: Walk To UPenn, CHOP!

Eget rum i ägarlägenhet med värden Lee
2 gäster1 sovrum1 säng1 delat badrum
Utökad rengöring
Denna värd har åtagit sig att följa Airbnbs femstegsprocess för utökad rengöring.
Högt rankad värd
Lee har fått femstjärniga betyg från 91 % av de senaste gästerna.
A lovely and art-filled guest room in a 3-bedroom apartment in University City just west of UPenn and Children's Hospital.

Queen bed w featherbed topper, down quilt w linen duvet, desk, fan & ac in summer, minifridge, microwave, desk & sofabed.

Hi, there! I am offering out a spare bedroom in my spacious West Philly flat. The apartment is packed with art, textiles and crafts that I've collected in travels throughout Mexico and Guatemala and provides lots of common space to share, as well. LGBT friendly. Limited Spanish poorly spoken. May not be an appropriate choice for people with mobility issues as it is a third floor walk up with no elevator. Listing is for 1 to 2 people sharing a queen sized bed; additional people require prior approval and will generate an additional charge. The household includes two cats.

About the room:
The available bedroom is fully furnished with a queen sized bed, a chair for sitting, a table and chairs, a desk and desk chair in case you need a space to work or write, and a couple of bookcases filled with all sorts of novels and works of non-fiction in case you forget to bring along reading materials. There is also a collection of area maps, travel guides and brochures for interesting places to visit. There is only one bathroom in the flat, so those facilities are shared with the other guest and myself. There are fans and an ac unit with which to fight the summer heat. I prefer 2+ night rentals on weekends but can be flexible. A microwave, bottled water, teabags and instant coffee are available for those who would rather not use the facilities in the main kitchen. Absolutely no smoking in the apartment or anywhere on the premises, inside or out.

About the place:
This flat is nearly 1300 square feet with an eat-in kitchen, (dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, coffee making apparatus, I cook a lot so odds are i have what you are looking for), a livingroom with a tv (Apple TV and a dvd player) a fantastic old Victorian bath with clawfoot tub and original tile, and a huge columned stone terrace with views round out the common areas to be shared. There is another guest room (The Bohemian Room) and a third room which I use as my bedroom and studio. Yup, there is only one bathroom, but we don't require much primping time so we should all be just fine. There are also two cats, which could be significant if you (a) are allergic, or (b) simply despise the little critters or (c) like them in small numbers. For those of you in categories A and B i can only hope you have closed your browser and moved on by this time. If you are in category C, please note that the square footage affords a little more space per cat, AND, with greater importance, the cats are never allowed to hang out in the guest bedroom prior to your visit, and if you keep the door closed, they will be absent during your visit as well!

About the neighborhood:
Philadelphia is a big city, but the historic old city, the city center and the western portions are all fairly compact, well planned and easily navigable, thanks to a great initial plan by William Penn and enhanced by Frederick Law Olmstead's plan for Fairmount Park. The building is located on the border of three different neighborhoods (opinions vary about which one it belongs to): Squirrel Hill to the south, Cedar Park to the west and Spruce Hill across Baltimore Avenue to the north. The building was built in the 1880's and was originally a single family mansion, but was renovated into flats in the 1920s. It is surrounded by huge twin Victorians set on wide, tree-lined streets. This section of West Philadelphia was built around a beautifully planned network of trolley lines radiating south and west from a central portal where 40th Street hits Baltimore, Chester and Woodland Avenues. From there the trolleys head underground and link to 30th Street Station, Center City and therefore everywhere else. This area of West Philadelphia is often called University City. It is home to Drexel University, The University of Pennsylvania and the University of The Sciences, as well as Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, The Philadelphia Veterans Administration Hospital, and The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology. Clark Park is located one block to the east and offers trees and open space and is home to the year round Saturday Farmers' Market (also Thursday afternoon and evenings late spring to Thanksgiving) and summer concerts and other community events. Historic Woodlands Cemetery is also just a couple of blocks away. A short drive west is Bartram's Gardens, an old farm established on the banks of the Schuylkill River in the 1700s that reminds us of what the area looked like before it was developed and annexed by the city.

Dining and Shopping:
There are numerous dining options in the neighborhood as well including Marigold Dining Room and Viet Nam. Mariposa Food Coop on Baltimore Avenue, Fu Wah Market on 47th Street just south of Baltimore, and Milk and Honey at 45th and Baltimore all offer good small market options. Milk and Honey also serves coffee and espresso drinks as well as lunch items and has seating. The GreenLine Cafe at 43rd and Baltimore offers espresso drinks, light breakfast items and indoor and outdoor seating. There is a 24 hour CVS a short walk away on 43rd Street between Locust and Spruce, and a 24 hour gas station with convenience store is located a block away at 45th and Springfield where it hits Baltimore.

Getting here:
Getting here is easy via either car or public transportation.

Arriving by plane into Philadelphia International Airport: If you are flying in, you can rent a car, cab it or take a van service: it is about a 10 to 15 minute drive. You can also take a train right from the airport to 30th Street Station. If you need some extra assistance and my schedule allows, I can sometimes arrange airport pickups for $30. This can be helpful for folks traveling with lots of bags, international travelers and people who are less sure of their English speaking skills.

Arriving by train via Amtrak: depart the train at 30th Street Station and find your way to the trolley lines (green signs, sometimes called subway-surface lines). The trolley lines are underground here and you need to exit 30th Street station, walk about 50 feet to the trolley entrance then head downstairs. Fares are $2 or you can buy tokens for a discount in 30th Street Station. It is about a 7 minute ride and a one block walk to my place via either the 34 or 13 trolley line. If you would like to make use of a car during your stay, there are zip cars parked a block away to take you to areas that are not as well served by public transit.

Arriving by car: If you are arriving by car you'll find that West Philadelphia offers abundant parking that allows you to leave your car and make use of the excellent public transit options to explore center city and olde city. Parking directly in front of the house is limited Monday to Friday from 8am to 6pm to two hour permit parking, but I can guide you to nearby blocks that allow for all day parking.


Sovrum 1
1 enkelsäng

Vad detta boende erbjuder

Gratis parkering på gatan
Uteplats eller balkong

Välj incheckningsdatum

Lägg till dina resedatum för exakt prissättning
Lägg till datum
Lägg till datum

4,85 av 5 stjärnor från 205 omdömen


Var du kommer att vara

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

My neighborhood is fantastic: it is green with trees and gardens, broad streets with lots of free parking (unlike most areas of the city), a variety of restaurants, over a dozen good restaurants within one to five blocks away, great public transportation to center city, an easy walk to Penn and Drexel.

Lee är din värd

Blev medlem augusti 2011
  • 297 omdömen
  • Identitet verifierad
Hey there! Welcome to my posting! I am a long time hospitality/retail/food service manager and I've learned a thing or two along the way about providing a nice place to rest, hang out, and relax! I also have a degree in painting and a background in interior design that has come in handy when it comes to providing you with a well organized, aesthetically pleasing place to hang your hat and park your backpack/suitcase. I've traveled extensively and have stayed with individuals renting rooms whenever possible because I've long felt that the best concierge service comes from people who actually live in the neighborhood in which you are staying. I've traveled extensively throughout the US, Mexico and Guatemala, and have my heart set on Peru and Morocco for my next big trips. That said, I could flip a coin between Oaxaca or Paris and be thrilled no matter which way it landed! I love to camp and hike, adore my cats and pretty much anyone else's, and volunteer my time and occasionally my place to foster homeless animals for local rescue organizations. Needless to say, I clean a lot, but I am not a neat freak. I love color, design, art and photography, old tools, road trips, books and reading, music of all sorts, cooking with as many spices as i can fit in a dish, gardening and growing my own food, and rearranging furniture and stuff just for the heck of it. I honed my skills as a host by accepting couchsurfers into my San Francisco abode for zero dollars down and lots of fun. Times were easier and more innocent then and I could not even think about asking for payment from people sleeping on an air mattress in my tiny little living room! Thankfully my Philly space is palatial by compare, and offers far more amenities as well. Come and visit! Can't make it? Fine, I'll come and see you!
Hey there! Welcome to my posting! I am a long time hospitality/retail/food service manager and I've learned a thing or two along the way about providing a nice place to rest, hang…
Under din vistelse
I live in my apartment, so I'm here a lot and available should you need me. I work more than full time and am gone for good chunks of the day, but I am only a text message away should you need me. The long layout of the apartment allows for spreading out, and the guest rooms are set up to be comfortable to work or hang out in, should you wish to keep to yourself.
I live in my apartment, so I'm here a lot and available should you need me. I work more than full time and am gone for good chunks of the day, but I am only a text message away sh…
  • Språk: English
  • Svarsfrekvens: 100%
  • Svarstid: inom ett par timmar
För att skydda din betalning bör du aldrig föra över pengar eller kommunicera utanför Airbnbs webbplats eller app.

Bra att veta

Incheckning: Flexibel
Utcheckning: 12:00
Ej lämpligt för barn och spädbarn
Ingen rökning
Inga husdjur
Inga partyn eller tillställningar
Hälsa och säkerhet
Har åtagit sig att följa Airbnbs utökade rengöringsrutin. Visa mer
Airbnbs riktlinjer för social distansering och andra riktlinjer relaterade till COVID-19 gäller